I’ve been wondering why lately I’ve been getting hurt. In my right hip area (quad muscle and hip tendon) and in my left knee (ligaments and cartilage). I racked my brain..telling myself it CAN’T just be ME. So I searched on the internet for ‘foods that rebuild cartilage’. I came across the below article, and after reading it I figured it out! It ISN’T all me! Yes I have pushed myself, but that is AFTER I feel soreness not BEFORE. My knee only started hurting when I run after I started this new job I have at this bakery, because I stand for 8 hours a day. I don’t really have the ability to sit. Then I go out and run. My first left knee injury to the ligament happened after I tried to run 11 miles. I’d been working at this place for about 2 weeks, and didn’t really run because I was waiting for my quad muscle to heal.

So I believe that the part of the reason I keep getting hurt is because of the TWO arthritises (is that a word..LOL) I have. I don’t talk about it much, but when I was in the Navy they diagnosed me at 22 with RA. Not a real bad case compared to some people, but enough to make my hips, knees, and ankles hurt after long periods of standing or sometimes at night if it is cloudy (atmospheric pressure). I’ve also been told by my dad that OA runs in our family. That one effects my shoulder joints and elbows. It’s kind of nasty sound when I have to ‘pop’ my shoulder to relieve pressure.

The below article was very informative to me. 🙂

 

Arthritis can be reversible! Proper diet, the right supplements and lifestyle changes can lead to huge improvements in the joints. You can stop inflammation, degeneration and pain. Daily exercise is very important in maintaining joint flexibility, as well as lubricating arthritic joints. See below for list of beneficial foods, supplements and herbs.

Rheumatoid Arthritis is a chronic inflammatory condition that effects the entire body, but is mostly concentrated in the joints. RA attacks all the synovial joints (mirroring on each side of the body) these joints then make crinkling cellophane noises.

Rheumatoid Arthritis usually occurs in people under the age of 40 including children. Stress seems to have a triggering effect for this illness in some people. It is also common to have other family members who have Rheumatoid arthritis. There is also research being done about “Leaky Gut Syndrome” and Rheumatoid arthritis.

Rheumatoid arthritis is an inflammatory autoimmune disorder. The bodies own immune system “attacks ” the synovial fluid in the joints causing inflammation that damages bone, cartilage, and tendons. It can also leave scar tissue that narrows the space between the joints.

Symptoms: fatigue, low grade fever, weakness, joint stiffness, effected joints become warm and tender with swelling.

Suggestions: Food allergies can aggravate RA. The most common foods that affect RA are: wheat, milk, dairy products, beef, and foods in the night shade family: tomato, white potato, eggplant, peppers, and tobacco. click here for elimination diet to get on the road to your good health! Once the allergens are identified, they can be eliminated from the diet. A diet low in sugar and saturated fats is very beneficial to RA patients. See list below for beneficial supplements and herbs.

Osteoarthritis affects individual joints, these joints then make popping, clicking and banging noises. Also called degenerative joint disease, OA is caused by degeneration of cartilage between the joints. The damaged cartilage then causes a release of an enzyme that destroys more cartilage. X-rays will show a narrowing between the bones.

There are two forms of Osteoarthritis: primary caused from wear and tear usually seen in people over forty. Secondary caused by inherited factors or deformities in the joints, trauma, surgery or a previous inflammatory disease. Athletes, Dancers and Runners may develop Osteoarthritis before the age af 40 because of the excess strain put on their joints.

Symptoms: local tenderness, soft tissue swelling, boney swelling, and boney nodules in any of the weight-bearing joints of the knees, hips, ankles, and sometimes hands.

Arthritis Remedies: It’s critical to eat a diet high in fruits and vegetables. Especially beneficial are: cherries, blueberries, and blackberries. Eat more sulfur containing foods: asparagus, eggs, garlic, onions, brussel sprouts and cabbage, they help rebuild the bone, cartilage, and connective tissue.

Avoid foods in the night shade family: tomato, white potato, eggplant, peppers, and tobacco, they contain solanine. Solanine is a poison, a natural carcinogen causing pain in the muscles, and aggrevating arthritis.

Nutrients Dosage What it does
Bromelain 3x daily as directed enzyme, reduces inflammation
Chrondroitin 500-1,000mg strengthens joints, ligaments, tendons
Essential Fatty Acids EFA as directed with meals anti-inflammatory, controls pain
Glucosamine as directed formation of all joint components
Vitamin E 400-800IU daily antioxidant, helps prevent joint damage
Calcium
Magnesium
Copper

D3
Zinc
2,000 mg daily
1,000 mg daily
3mg daily
800 IU daily
50mg daily
prevents bone loss, promotes bone re-growth, strengthens connective tissue
B Complex 2 stage release reduces swelling
Vitamin C 3,000-10,000mg daily pain relief, free radical destroyer, anti-inflammatory
Alfalfa as directed has all the minerals for bone formation
Prim rose oil 1,300 daily relieves inflammation
Free form amino acid complex as directed protein is major component in bone tissue, helps repair
